Mark Hughes: SAF Likes To Make Sure We Know Our Place

“He likes to make sure we know our place. And rightly so. He is always competitive and to come up against guys he has worked with and brought through, he has a lot of affection for them and he is always supportive. But he always likes to beat them, that’s for sure.”

“Invariably he picks his strongest team against me. Maybe that’s a sign of respect because he knows I set up my teams to give them a hard time.”

“Probably my relationship now with Sir Alex is better than when I was a player. I was grateful he allowed me to play in his team. That was the top and bottom of it when I was a player.”

“As a manager it has become closer. But that doesn’t stop me wanting to overcome him. At times we are both a bit vocal on the touchline but I don’t think there have been any episodes where there has been a massive falling out as I have had with other top managers.”

Leave a Reply

