Giggs: Young Footballers Are Showered With Too Much Money

“A lot of players now, before they’ve established themselves, get a lot of money, which I never got. I was on good money, don’t get me wrong, but I was playing in the first team and I was on £30. I was on an apprenticeship wage.”

“Then my next contract was like £200 with expenses and gradually contracts would get better the older you got. That was how I grew up. Now, before you’re proven, you’ve got the money – a four or five-year contract – which is the way football’s gone.”

“Some players can handle it, some player’s don’t. I’ve been at the club during its most successful era and been here a long time. It’s going to be hard to beat. I’m not going to say it will never ever be done, but it will be tough.”

A high percentage of the players turn out to be failures and this is happening more and more. Players agents often speak to highly of them and raise the expectations for that player, that player now has to perform way beyond their ability and that pressure usually is too much for them.

A perfect example of a player who had high expectations and failed to live up to them was Ricardo Quaresma. He was said to be a better player than Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo.

Leave a Reply

